Love Is: (Illustrated Story Book about Caring for Others, Book About Love for Parents and Children, Rhyming Picture Book by Diane Adams and Claire Keane


Description
Product Description
This beautifully illustrated book tells the heartwarming story of a little girl and a duckling, who both grow to understand what it means to care for each other as they learn that love is as much about letting go as it is about holding on. A little girl finds a duckling who has wandered away from the park onto the city streets, and takes it home to care for it. The baby duck requires constant attention—early morning feedings, bathing, and tidying—until the time comes to say goodbye. When her pet has grown too big for the bath, the girl takes the full-grown duck back to the pond. Afterward, she misses it and wonders if it remembers her. One day, the duck comes back—with six ducklings of her own.

• Lyrical text makes the story fun to read aloud
• Teaches responsibility
• Explores the challenges and joys that come with giving and receiving love

Diane Adams is the author of Two Hands to Love You.

Illustrator Claire Keane is the author and illustrator of Once Upon A Cloud and is also known for her development art for the movies Tangled and Frozen.

Fans of Love and Day It Rained Hearts will adore this story.

• Beautiful story for parents and children to share
• Makes a great Valentine or Easter gift for children
• Perfect picture book for children who love animals

From School Library Journal
PreS-Gr 2—A little girl finds a duckling who has wandered away from the park onto the city streets. She takes the baby home to raise. Her new charge requires constant attention—early morning feedings, bathing, and tidying—until the time comes to say goodbye. Realizing that her pet has grown too big for the bath, the girl takes the full-grown duck back to the pond to rejoin its family. Afterward, she misses it and wonders if it remembers her. One day, the duck comes back—with six ducklings of her own. “And love is also watching, waving,/wondering if love remembers you,/and knowing in a happy instant,/that love has lasted…/…and grown some, too.” A love poem, an ode to motherhood, this sweet and touching book will speak to children who have or want a pet, as well as to their parents. The illustrations, rendered in Photoshop against a white background, reflect and enrich the text by adding humor: the wide-eyed girl cradling her pillow over her ears to drown out the midnight quacks; frantically chasing the duckling with a towel, bathwater overturned; or hands on hips, with dustpan and brush in front of a mound of sunflower seeds. The endpapers feature pale yellow duckies along with other elements from the story, such as a tub, a tree, a bag of seed, etc. VERDICT A tender choice for sharing with children and parents, especially on Valentine’s Day.—Barbara Auerbach, New York City Public Schools

Categories: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: